The Cup of Joe for the Day: Entrepreneurship for the 20s

Entrepreneurship is the process of starting a business, typically a startup company offering an innovative product, process or service. The entrepreneur perceives an opportunity and often exhibits biases in taking the decision to exploit the opportunity.

Questions that I want to ask you:

  1. Are you satisfied with your current employment situation?
  2. Do feel that YOU can do more with your time?
  3. Have you found your niche?

I wanted to to get started by telling you guys how I got on the entrepreneurship bandwagon without taking out an outrageous loan, being tied down, committing only enough time to get the job done and loving what I do.

First I did some soul searching  and asked myself what is it that you feel your missing in your life and what risk are you willing to take? I hate working to the beat of another person who cares less about my personal development and success as a young professional. I work as a baker for a local company, I like the position but I felt that I can do more with my time. I wanted to make a name for myself whether it was in the professional or entertainment wold. I told myself if I put as much time into finding and working on my own God given talents I could make a business out of them.

I found writing and music. I love to read and write and I love to do music so why not make a business of it? Your probably wondering why the heck I would stop everything to write and do music, well I found music through my husband who is a rapper called Rekrap and he helped me find my voice. I am a artist meaning I sing, rap or just have music for my EPs, albums or mix tapes. I use music to express myself on every ground you can think of. I wanted to see if I could make a career out of music and I believe that I can with patients, practice and some business knowledge of the industry. Now this may sound great and all but there is a lack of sleep making sure that I stay up with the latest industry news ( not gossip) and rehearse and perfecting my craft.

Then there is the writing hobby that I have developed. I had a terrible/abusive relationship before I met my beautiful husband and I never really got any real healing or therapy to help me move on. I decided to tell my story by writing my first book called, A Gay Man’s Girlfriend. This book helped me relieve some of my anger and pain without literally taking any action out on anyone. This was my therapy, no therapist would be able to heal me like I healed myself but taking all the built up anger and fear putting it into a story. FYI it is still in it’s manuscript form getting edited to perfection and will hit the market on Amazon early next year.

So being an entrepreneur isn’t just opening up a literal place or franchise it can literally be your talents that you have found that people will actually be interested in. Once you found out what you like take that and make yourself the business. Now I am not suggesting you just quit your job and start doing what you love. It takes time and money of course to get started and you want to make sure that you have some savings and enough income coming in from your new found career to just stop doing what you currently are doing. When I get to that level in my crafts then I will officially be working for myself. FINALLY!

Leave a comment, idea or tell me what you are currently working on!

Leave a Reply

